Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Interesting.......

Article about: Good People of the Forum. Below are some photographs of a recent sale on Ebay. I had a very lively conversation with the seller. It sold for £600. May I ask for your opinions? eBay - The UK'

?

Default Re: Interesting.......

My thoughts on it, well the liner looks good, not sure about the about the chincup, the wear looks a little odd. I believe the decals have been added, and the whole rig has been assembled from mostly original parts. For me, the decal has ruined it. That, of course is just my humble opinion, I have never owned one and I am by no means an expert on them, but if it is all correct, then £600 is surely the bargain of a lifetime.

Kind Regards,

Andy

Adrian, the helmet that this one is trying to portray is one of the 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment of the 101st Airborne Division, which is the unit that was portrayed in Band of Brothers. These are M1 helmet faker's favorites.

I can't say I like this one, sorry.

?

this lid was sort of discussed here fake 101st 506 PIR fixed bale - U.S. Militaria Forum & deemed a fake straight away to many of these types of lids have come up so much so that even if the real deal did turn up people would be very skeptical of it with out 100% proof of originality.

?

Fake insignia, though many of the parts seem original to me.

Nitram

you must know something i dont then nick because as far as im aware there has NEVER EVER been any written or conclusive proof that Mccords ever added para(dot fastener)chinstraps to a fixed bale lid.only D bales and M1C's so the bottom line here is the winning bidder may just as well gone to co_b collectibles on ebay and got a nice d-bale coversion for £200 that really looks the business instead of wasteing 3 times that amount on something which is exactly the same anyway.

I agree with Minnie - the new owner would have been better off buying a known repro