Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

M1 Helmet refurb

Article about: Hi, I mixed Javis Countryside scenic products scatter No 30 sand (Available on Ebay) with Humbrol enamel matt 155 until it was a thickish paste. I then stippled it on starting from the crown

?

Default M1 Helmet refurb

HI
    This is my first attempt at restoring a post war helmet to use for reinactment. Didnt want to use an original and deface its history. I would like to know what people think of my efforts and welcome any constructive criticisms or anything I could have done differently. I have mildly aged the helmet as I feel the helmet would have been relatively new for the 1944 period I'm reinacting so didnt want to go too far with it. I have included some pictures of the refurb stages. All the helmet was hand painted and I made my own stencils.

Phil
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture M1 Helmet refurb   M1 Helmet refurb  

M1 Helmet refurb   M1 Helmet refurb  

?

Default Re: M1 Helmet refurb

Very nice job! Especially the corking, so often I see these refurbs plastered in cork. It bugs me.
    Well done.

Regards,

Andy
    Best Regards,

Andy

[COLOR=#ffa07a]
    [/COLOR][CENTER][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=3]URGENTLY LOOKING FOR: 1982 era Argentine military issue goggles. Fravida 109, and "Sanbuee" French lens type
    [/SIZE][/COLOR][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][COLOR=#ff8c00][SIZE=3]

[/SIZE]Have a look at my 20+ (so far, work in progress) albums for lots of M1's, rare liners and other stuff, including WW2British helmets, Falklands battlefield pickup helmets and let me know what you think!
    [/COLOR][/CENTER]

?

Thanks Andy. The MP letters were slightly pissed which bugged me everytim I looked at it. I re did them last night and will post new picture when I get home from weekend away. Thanks for your comments. really enjoyed doing it so might try and do another project soon.
    Regards Phil

?

MP letters redone