Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

show your period russian buckles

Article about: by meyerse Wouldn't the one with the hook be post war? I thought if the buckle was in your left hand when hooking it up it was made after 1952? This is what I thought also??? I saw another p

?

Default show your period russian buckles

I'd like to add to my collection a russian period buckle since a while, but I am still confused, since I am no expert on this field, on spotting the differences between those pre 1945 and those post.
    Guys, please post your pre 1945 buckles (both enlisted/NCO and officer's) and help me with some advices on how to recognize them. They are often offered on the net, but i feel that very few are period buckles.

regards

Matt

PS - by the way, if you want to part with one of yours, I'm here

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement show your period russian buckles
    P
    Many

Default Re: show your period russian buckles

Hi Matt, I don't have much to share here. What you have to bear in mind is that Red Army enlisted men did not have a belt buckle in the German style. They wore an open frame style buckle. Have a look at the pic I have included which shows a typical version. In fact, this one is 1943 Canadian made for the Red Army.

There was a brass belt buckle introduced as the "M1943" but this did not get issued until postwar I believe. You find these in brass and later in steel.

Officers wore either a open frame buckle or the well known Red Star design in brass.

The Navy did wear a brass belt buckle with anchor design.

Cheers, Ade.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture show your period russian buckles  

?

Just a one picture with period M 40 buckle, found near Leningrad- Nevski Pyatachok, some of them was found at the Leningrad front near Auvere-Narva strongpoints 1944 year.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture show your period russian buckles  

?