Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SS Pith Helmet Badges

Article about: I have a friend who would like to know if these SS badges are genuine period items. I have little or no knowledge of pith helmets so all help is appreciated. Thanks in advance Regards Samir

?

Default SS Pith Helmet Badges

I have a friend who would like to know if these SS badges are genuine period items. I have little or no knowledge of pith helmets so all help is appreciated. Thanks in advance

Regards
    Samir
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture SS Pith Helmet Badges   SS Pith Helmet Badges  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS Pith Helmet Badges
    P
    Many

?

I don't think they are real.
    I have never seen a screw post and nut assembly on any pith helmet shields.

the posts match up perfectly with the holes in the pith helmet.perhaps F-B can help out.

?

I believe these are repros, I have only ever seen the ones with the prongs.

From what i've gathered about these SS pith helmet shields is that the only genuine ones were JFS 42 and 43 types, (no other maker is accepted), and the pins were strictly round wire only. Flat wire and threaded posts were considered bogus. That is also the belief of Bob Hritz.

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'

In memory of Capt. Robert Falcon Scott, Edward Wilson, Henry Bowers, Lawrence Oates and Edgar Evans. South Pole Expedition, 30th March 1912.