Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

Lancaster bomber question ?

Article about: Can anyone advise if the Lancaster bomber used for operations in europe around 1944 had any aluminium components in it? We live near a crash site in Belgium and have found alloy and steel pi

PGB
    ?

Default Lancaster bomber question ?

Can anyone advise if the Lancaster bomber used for operations in europe around 1944 had any aluminium components in it? We live near a crash site in Belgium and have found alloy and steel pieces in our garden which look to have been melted. They are around 10-15 cm in length and have a smooth rounded surface as if melted at great heat, we saw them when the sun reflected off the alloy...

Default Re: Lancaster bomber question ?

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

PGB
    ?

Many thanks for the advice Woolgar, looking at the link and the size of stuff we've found it could well be melted Chaff material... the bomber that went down was on it's way to a raid so it could have been fully loaded...

The total amount of materials used in making a single Lanc was vast, but the greatest amount of all (but NOT by weight) was aluminium at nearly 70%. So the chances are you are finding a lot of airframe components and skinning that has melted.

As an aside a Lancaster cost around £42,000 each;

The crew cost £10,000 each to train;

The average cost of fuel and bombs per mission was £13,000.

Othe variables meant that the average cost for a single aircraft on a single raid was over £100,000. Remember the cost of the crew was spread (Theoretically if they survived, which most did not) over 30 missions normally.

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.