Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

WW2 Unearthed

Article about: Is there any way to view it down here in Australia because the I player dose not work if you are outside the UK. Morris

Default WW2 Unearthed

Did anyone watch this on Sunday ? Looks a good series

If you missed it watch it here:
    BBC iPlayer - World War II Unearthed

Nick

'Dan Snow reveals the role Northern Ireland played in the Battle of the Atlantic during the Second World War, and how excavations in Italy illustrate Northern Irish soldiers' experiences on the battlegrounds of Europe. Plus, divers explore sunken U-boats and a wartime Spitfire is dredged from an Irish bog.'
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Default Re: WW2 Unearthed

Morning Nick I watched two episodes last night it was on the History channel here in Canada .
    The spit fire they recovered from the peat was very cool and much of it was still intact ie.. Browning machine guns they even went as far as to clean one up and bring it to the range and remote fire a belt of ammo through it.
    All and all a very good program I hope it continues and the do some relic hunting on the continent

Regards Mark K
    Last edited by Mark K; 07-17-2012 at 03:57 PM. Reason: fix text

Yes Mark, it was amazing to see the Brownings fire after 70 years in a bog !

Great to see Churchill tank too !

How sad that 160 captured U Boats were used as target practice and sunk

Fascinating that RAF and Luftwaffe internees in Ireland roamed the local town together !!

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?