Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

DAK M42 or post war creation

Article about: Just starting so bear with me. I'm under the impression this is an original helmet. Post war was painted with leather added. Am I anywhere close? :/

Default DAK M42 or post war creation

Just starting so bear with me. I'm under the impression this is an original helmet. Post war was painted with leather added. Am I anywhere close? :/
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture DAK M42 or post war creation   DAK M42 or post war creation  

DAK M42 or post war creation   DAK M42 or post war creation  

DAK M42 or post war creation   DAK M42 or post war creation  

DAK M42 or post war creation  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement DAK M42 or post war creation
    P
    Many

I’m no expert, can’t speak concretely on helms with painted palms; but I do know the palm decal varieties did not exist. Can’t imagine it was acceptable to paint a large palm tree on the side over decal. The rust also looks pretty new to my eyes. The experts I’m sure will chime in!

The shell might be original, but everything else looks like postwar meddling to me.

It's not a DAK helmet. German desert camouflage had more of a pinkish hue to it, as that was the colour that best blended into the environment. This looks more like 'Dunkelgelb' or Ordnance Tan, as it's known. This was used to camouflage helmets on occasion, although this shade of yellow doesn't look quite right. It's a bit too vibrant. I'm confident that the liner and chinstrap are reproductions too, with the chinstrap possibly being of the 'humpback buckle' variety. The liner looks brand new, not commensurate with the condition of the shell at all.

Not one I'd want. Best leave it alone!

Regards, B.B.