Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Decal on the wrong side?

Article about: First, let me say I have no knowledge at all about German helmets or their decals. I came across this photo and first assumed it was simply mirrored, till I noticed that the sleeve eagle act

Default Decal on the wrong side?

First, let me say I have no knowledge at all about German helmets or their decals.

I came across this photo and first assumed it was simply mirrored, till I noticed that the sleeve eagle actually is at correct place and the runes themselves point the right way. Was it common practice to put a rune decal on the left side of the helmet? I never noticed it before.

Decal on the wrong side?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Decal on the wrong side?
    P
    Many

Jan
    ?

Certainly rare but they did make them. Could be for a so called "Reverse" Double Decal for Foreign Volunteers!

See here for instance

https://therupturedduck.com/collecti...ign-volunteers

Best,

Jan

Quote by Jan View Post
    Certainly rare but they did make them. Could be for a so called "Reverse" Double Decal for Foreign Volunteers!

See here for instance

https://therupturedduck.com/collecti...ign-volunteers

Best,

Jan
    It could also be a double runic helmet, also very rare. Here are 2 double runic examples. The first is an ET M40 with a Pocher Runic shield added on the left. The second is an EF M42, again, with a Pocher added to the left. The third, an M35 EF, was originally a double decal combat Police helmet, converted to a reverse decal SS by the placement of a Pocher runic shield over the Police adler decal. The added decal on these reverse decal or double runic SS helmets is almost always, if not always, a field applied Pocher runic shield. Jim G.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Decal on the wrong side?   Decal on the wrong side?  

Decal on the wrong side?   Decal on the wrong side?