Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

SS DD Thoughts?

Article about: Just picked this up with a pile of other stuff. All the stuff looks good to me but I have never had one of these before so fake is my natural default position. Thanks, Doug

I would be happy to send this to you so you could see for your self whatever you need to. I am thinking that someone who was trying to upgrade the helmet for collectors value (that I didn't pay any where close to) should of known the rank deal going on here. I have seen many complete liners available out there that would of been a much better fit. Now, In my 50 years of collecting related stuff I am no expert in this specific area. I can't imagine what the heck was going on here with the liner, name and rank. But it is just the way I got it from a gun shop that ended up with a pile of stuff from a vets stash. They fixated on the guns and let me have the other stuff cheap. Doug
    Quote by DougB View Post
    Derkerl your description would be aided by photos of the 3 pins, both the heads and split pins with washers, also as Terry has already asked what is the liner band date? Pics of the "cheesy" pins would be nice as well. Remember Leon there are guys who can swap out a liner and you'd never know.

I must agree with Samir and Terry, this liner is not the factory liner to the helmet from what little is shown. Swapped wartime, postwar, maybe some pictures - as requested - will shed more light on the question as would the liner band date. Leather being 44 it's pretty obvious it's not factory leather.

I heard this described as a holy grail somewhere. It's rare but not a "grail". I've recorded many Q double decal M40 SS, and most are in better condition than this and without the question marks about the liner. As well, Pocher decals over Q on a former SD speak of a field reissue, perhaps this might explain the liner, but it takes much away from the value.