Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

ss double decal helmet

Article about: Hi. I have recently joined the forum and also I am new to this hobby. I would really appreciate an opinion on a double decal M35 helmet. The liner and two of the rivets are dated 1939. It is

?

Default Re: ss double decal helmet

I have to go against the grain and say this is not a Q runic decal but a Pocher and a probably reproduction as I suspect is the party shield. The decals in this condition do not appear to have the correct substructure of originals, Pocher or Q and just look like thin repros.

As well the party shield is trying to be a Q party shield but is Pocher orange/red.
    There appears to have been decals applied prior to these (look near the base of both shields) as well.

All in all, I would not take it to the bank these are originals, and when decals are in this poor condition an in hand by someone who really knows SS decals is a must for most decals.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement ss double decal helmet
    P
    Many

?

I'm by no means a helmet expert, but based on Doug's comments, could this be a Norwegian reissue? There does appear to be remnants of a previous decal, especially where the SS decal currently resides. The shape of the remnants resemble the thin pointed shape of the Norwegian decal as seen in the photos below.

In addition, the liner rivets are missing the original paint and I noticed in my recent restoration, when using acetone, this area was the first to lose its paint.

Obviously, the liner and chinstrap could have been added after the fact if this was a reissue.

I won't take a stab at the current decals and their authenticity, but they could have been covered by the Norwegian decals and are in fact authentic which could explain their current condition, or placed on after and aged if not authentic.

Again, I'm no expert and am just hypothesizing. In reality, I hope the whole lid is real because it is a beauty!