Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Eisernes Kreuz

Article about: Just wanted to post a few of the medals I already had before I joined here to see what people thought about authenticity. Any comments would be much appreciated. This is the Iron Cross II Cl

Question Eisernes Kreuz

Just wanted to post a few of the medals I already had before I joined here to see what people thought about authenticity. Any comments would be much appreciated. This is the Iron Cross II Class with a tiny "27" on the ring.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Eisernes Kreuz   Eisernes Kreuz  

Eisernes Kreuz   Eisernes Kreuz  

Eisernes Kreuz   Eisernes Kreuz  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Eisernes Kreuz
    P
    Many

Default Re: Eisernes Kreuz

Checks out ok Richard!

here is my Schenkl to compare

Nick
    Attached Images Attached Images Eisernes Kreuz  Eisernes Kreuz 
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

A good Anton Schenkl cross.

Regards

like the gentlemen said...

good example.

Nice cross indeed.

Thanks guys for that. The dealer I bought it from didn't even mention the maker mark on the ring, I only saw it once I was home looking at it a few days later. Is 27 a more common one or not? Also how much should you worry about if a medal might have a replacement ribbon? Does this really take any value away from the medal?

these 27 crosses are not particularly rare.

as to ribbons, there is no reliable way to tell really if a period ribbon has been replaced or not (with another period ribbon) and hence this would have zero effect on the value of the piece.

if you mean that an authentic ribbon has been replaced by a fake ribbon (i assume this would be what you are getting at), then this you'd be able to tell and you'd have a modest problem as it concerns value.

?