Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Eisernes Kreuz I. klasse with case - but no serial

Article about: Dear experts, I was reading the previous messages and found amazing how you could determine the origin of these EK - wow! I just bought an EKI with its case, but unfortunately no serial mark

Default Re: Eisernes Kreuz I. klasse with case - but no serial

Quote by Glenn66 View Post
    What is it that identifies it as a Souval specifically?
    Hi Glenn

Souvals are probably the easiest to recognise. I have posted a clearer pic of an EK2 Souval cross. Note the 'birds feet' on each corner of the beading and how rounded the inner beading corners are.

Nick
    Attached Images Attached Images Eisernes Kreuz I. klasse with case - but no serial 
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Eisernes Kreuz I. klasse with case - but no serial
    P
    Many

Hi Nick,

A good tip thanks. I alway figured W&L's to be the easiest to spot due to the 'scrunched' ribs on the inner top right hand side of the frame. So now i know 2 easy spotters

Is the 'birds foot' perculiar to the Souval only? I see a reasonable number of EK's with this feature so in future i'll take note if they are marked 98 or not.
    Also the rounded inner beading always makes me suspicious of a Floch but I don't think Floch's have the 'feet'.

Is there anything to look for to distinguish between post-war Souvals and TR era?

Thanks
    Glenn

Quote by Glenn66 View Post
    Hi Nick,

A good tip thanks. I alway figured W&L's to be the easiest to spot due to the 'scrunched' ribs on the inner top right hand side of the frame. So now i know 2 easy spotters

Is the 'birds foot' perculiar to the Souval only? I see a reasonable number of EK's with this feature so in future i'll take note if they are marked 98 or not.