Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

My First Soldbuch

Article about: Hello folks. Having collected Wehrpasses for some time, I decided to pick up a couple of cheap Soldbucher a few weeks ago. I'm new to these, so will have trouble translating them. I will do

He was vaccinated against (top to bottom): smallpox, typhoid fever/paratyphoid fever, dysentery, cholera and spotted fever.

As for the medical conditions for which he was treated (data on page 12/13):

He suffered from mild pleural adhesions (left lung) (12 May 1944) and gastritis (1 June 1944). These first two entries were apparently just cases of ambulatory examination and treatment; he had an X-ray on both occasions.

The other four entries cover continuous stationary treatment in a succession of four hospitals starting on 21 June 1944. The illness codes are for digestive complaints (# 22) and stomach and intestinal sickness (# 21). He was first treated at the reserve hospital in Radom (Poland), then transferred to the reserve hospital in Warsaw (Poland), then on by hospital train to the reserve hospital in Glatz [Kłodzko] (now Poland, at the time Germany) and finally by hospital train to the reserve hospital in Dresden (Germany) from which he was released on 18 August 1944.

Entry # 3 on page 23 tells us that he was then granted recovery leave from 26 August to 11 September 1944.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement My First Soldbuch
    P
    Many

Thank you all for this outpouring of information! I purchased another Soldbuch with this one, and will use what I've learned here to (hopefully) do a better job at deciphering it. I'll post that one tomorrow.