Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 55 of 132 FirstFirst ... 5 45 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 65 105 ... LastLast

Australian WWII - Far North Queensland Metal detecting and recovery

Article about: Hi Blokes ~ I am posting this as an going blog for interested parties that have been following my fossicking of (extensive) WWII ~ Far North Qld Australia . This area has been described in r

AT P Sweep

In the video, I'm not a professional, do not judge strictly. That's how it was. https://youtu.be/BxddqunNy80

?

When the Australian Army fought in WWI and WWII they wore the 'Rising Sun' badges with 'AUSTRALIA' titles (# 2, 10, 20 & 21 in Vladimir's picture). It is strange to see the two Australian battalion badges #1 & 11 as these should not have been worn outside of Australia. The other badges are British or New Zealand (#6) although there are also trade and rank badges (#4, 8, 9 & 17) which were normally cloth for overseas and these could be Aussie, British or New Zealand badges. I think somebody has lost their collection. Strange for these to be found in a bunker. I wonder if they were attached to a souvenir belt?

Oz.

Ubique

Check the post 541. We'll see how I found them.

Wartime GS badges should have the legend 'Australian Commonwealth Military Forces'.

?

Its a good video Vladimir. I detect too (Garrett 250 Ace) but no war sites near Melbourne
    The badges were put in a pocket? With a shoe. You thought a soldier hid the items before battle and did not come back. Yes, maybe that happened. Only the badges can tell that story now. They travelled a long way.
    Can you show a picture of the buttons please? Were any of those buttons sewn to the cloth? The hook was attached to the uniform to hold up the belt (x4).

Oz.

Ubique

Picture taken later. I propose to go to my topic. In order to the owner of the topic did not swear. Traces of war in the Kola Peninsula.

AT P Sweep