Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Relic hunting without metal detectors

Article about: Where are you exactly ?

Default Relic hunting without metal detectors

So yeah, I'm a student, so I cannot afford buying metal detectors (But somehow I always find money for militaria from Varusteleka, hmmm....), and theres this GREAT forest behind our house which has some places that look like dump sites and trenches, but I don't have a metal detector so I will have to just randomly start digging at a spot surrounded by mosquitos, which is very annoying after a while without finding anything. Any tips?

Oh, and by the way, as the germans were burning Lapland, they left some buildings as they were, except ravaging the insides and stuff... Among one of these, believe it or not, is our sauna. It was last summer transformed into a sauna, basically adding the necessities inside and putting new wood planks on top of the shell of the building. the door is still the same, as it was pretty hard to cover in planks, and it has some wartime paper clippings on it too, but they are pretty fragile so I don't mind ripping them off, and they are family history.

Default Re: Relic hunting without metal detectors

Did you tried to explore this forest with eyes wide open??
    Sorry,poor joke...

Hi Zuken,
    Perhaps a good start would be to research your area.Look at photographs,maps any documents that might relate to the area you wish to search.If anything it will narrow any search area.Maybe you could take a few pics and show us what you see? I wish you luck

Zuken

The old Mark I eyeball is the best searching tool in the world. This thread gives you some tips, and applies to searching by any method.

Searching tips

And this one may also help...

Tips on how to gain permission to dig.