Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Stone cannon balls?

Article about: I have several stone cannon balls found in the Great Miami river from the old Ft Hamilton OH. from the US indian wars. does any one know their value?

KEN RUTHERFORD
    ?

Default Re: Stone cannon balls?

I have several stone cannon balls found in the Great Miami river from the old Ft Hamilton OH. from the US indian wars. does any one know their value?

Hello this is one that I found near Oxford (England) 15 years ago.Stone cannon balls?Stone cannon balls?

That's more like it.........!
    Regards,

Steve.

Here's mine, found in Aden, 16th Century Portugese. Dug up when building part of the docks.

Stone cannon balls?
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Stone cannon balls?   Stone cannon balls?  

Last edited by diver99; 09-05-2012 at 07:01 PM.

just a thought but althought they could well be cannon balls (im no expert) wouldnt ballista, catapult or trebuchet projectiles be another possible explaination, for the u.k atleast?

Regards Mad.ideas

Interesting thread. I have shot gravel from my cannon and found it is great for removing low shrubbery for about 50' in a cone pattern. It's a bit disturbing for my neighbors but they have gotten used to it over the years. I have also used soup cans full of cement or plaster when I want to see the impact. Usually I just make noise which is fun also. Kick Ass Cannon - YouTube

Thanks
    Burt

I have one in my garden in cyprus.Burt I bet the nieghbours love you!.

?

Default Round stone found

Quote by Reg View Post
    Hi Danny and other gentlemen

Err..right! I found grandads "cannonball" in the garden, as you can see from the pic its huge, not exactly spherical and seems to be made from local sandstone so probably not ideal in a projectile, (Ive placed a delicate ancient artifact next to it to help guage its size)