Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Early SA Dagger by Anton Wingen Jr

Article about: Hello All, I’m new to collecting Third Reich edged weapons and recently obtained an early Anton Wingen Jr SA dagger with gruppe marking “He.” I was told this dagger came from a Vet’s family

Kohler
    ?

Default Early SA Dagger by Anton Wingen Jr

Hello All,
    I’m new to collecting Third Reich edged weapons and recently obtained an early Anton Wingen Jr SA dagger with gruppe marking “He.” I was told this dagger came from a Vet’s family and was never taken apart. The dagger seems all original due to the pommel nut and scabbard screws look unturned, however I want expert opinions and views. Please comment on the dagger overall and also if the hanger is correct for this piece. The hanger is missing the little leather loop. I’m looking forward to hearing your feedback. Thanks.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Early SA Dagger by Anton Wingen Jr   Early SA Dagger by Anton Wingen Jr  

Early SA Dagger by Anton Wingen Jr   Early SA Dagger by Anton Wingen Jr  

2. # ADS

Welcome to the WRF ,
    Personally to me it looks like a few condition issues ? , "touched up" motto , damaged screws , tool mark on grip nut , and ill fitting grip is what Iam noticing , wait for more seasoned collectors to chime in .
    Early SA Dagger by Anton Wingen JrEarly SA Dagger by Anton Wingen Jr
    Last edited by Australia; 04-20-2015 at 10:37 PM.

?

Welcome Kohler,

I have a complete other opinion then Australia.
    I thinks its a nice A.Wingen early SA dagger.
    Wingen used a dark SA runes button and had a dark coloured anodised scabbard, just like your one.
    I like the inset of the Eagle and button, nice craftmanship.
    The woodschrinking on the left is not that bad, but im sure this is not a partsdagger, these guards fit the grip perfectly, and the guard to throat/scabbard is as good as they come.