Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?

Article about: The blade has a sharp central ridge, the motto is not positioned correctly, just little things

Default 1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?

A comrade recently gifted me a 1936 Chained SS dagger that he purchased for $100 in the 1970s.

I am not an expert, but to me everything appears legitimate about both the scabbard and the dagger when they are examined separately.The problem is that this dagger bears an RZM mark with the SS sub-contracting number associated with Carl Eickhorn, and the year of production is listed as being 1940.

If it was an unmarked blade, I would not worry. If it had a maker's mark, I would assume that it was an early '33 dagger that was updated with the chain scabbard in '36. I have not heard of the opposite happening, though, with a later RZM dagger showing up in a '36 scabbard.

Could there be a legitimate reason for this anomaly? For example, if the blade was damaged in 1940 and had to be replaced, or the SS man in question became an NCO and decided to separately buy the chained '36 scabbard. Has anyone heard of that happening?

I am including several photos, but they are not the best quality. I did get a nice shot of the maker's mark. The chain does feature the double SS approval stamp.

Thank you for your assistance.

1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?
    P
    Many

Default Re: 1936 Chained SS Dagger, or is it?

It appears to be a mismatched set, as the dagger does not fit
    the scabbard well - there is a large gap where crossguard
    meets the mouth.........
    Regards,

Steve.

Walkwolf,