Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

SS Police Sword... good?

Article about: Hello Could you tell me please waht do you think about this SS sword? and can you tell me please how much it is worth? sorry that im sking about price but im still learning... thank you Jaco

Yes I heard of both versions, I was referring to angolias book on swords of germany, silver for nco, bronze for officer, but also have read they were all silvered to start to start with, if anyone would know ir would be witty.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS Police Sword... good?
    P
    Many

Hi guys, I must get a copy of that book as I didn't know that. That would answer why the nco's always tend to hold there silvering better too.

But I agree the copper does look a nice contrast!

Anyway sorry to de-rail the thread, its about the sword which I happen to agree has had a fair bit of tinkering so my verdict, save ur money.

However, the motto and SS pommel seem to look to have been added a long while ago but at the same time. Its not accurate or consistant one could argue it was done by hand.

Naturally I would think it would be a scrummy trying to boost the value of a tired looking blade however one the other hand an engraver would also argue you need a sound surface to engrave so the engraving was on there long before the rust.

But that's throwing a spanner in the works, as I say, id personally swerve it purely down to it not looking nice.
    Last edited by matty01; 10-20-2013 at 12:35 PM.

Quote by maximus71 View Post
    Yes I heard of both versions, I was referring to angolias book on swords of germany, silver for nco, bronze for officer, but also have read they were all silvered to start to start with, if anyone would know ir would be witty.
    I can add to this from Wittmanns SS reference on pg 472. below.....