Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Can you identify this helmet?

Article about: Hi! I need help identifying this helmet. I know for sure its real from the WW2, as it has been in the family sinse a familymember found it during the war. What kind of helmet is this? And wh

This helmet is spectacular

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Can you identify this helmet?
    P
    Many

MAP
    ?

Quote by Q26h9avlk654R View Post
    Hi! I know Im a noob. But how should I store it? Currently it is just on the floor in the attic. As it has been since the war. As the pictures show there is some rust on the inside. I'm a little afraid that this will spread and eventually destroy the entire helmet. Is there anything I can do to prevent the rust from spreading? Or will this ruin the value?
    Well the best way to store it is to send it to me for safe keeping .

Hopefully some the Helmet guys on the forum will respond as well but:

1) Keep it at constant room temp. Too hot will dry out the leather. Large swings in temp may also cause damage to the leather. Also keep away from high humidity.
    2) Don't worry about the rust. From the pictures it looks minor. It will not spread if the helmet is kept dry. Do not try to remove it.
    3) Keep it out of direct sunlight. I keep all my stuff in a room with window darkening shades.
    4) Hands and fingers off the decal!! I handle my helmets only on the edges.

As noted above, hopefully some the really expert lid guys will come along with some advice as well.

Regards,

Michael

If your ever interested in passing it along, keep me in mind
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

MAP
    ?

Quote by helmetone View Post