Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here

Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?

Article about: My late father left this sword to me, he said it was "Shin Gunto " NCO officers sword. My father was aboard the USS Iowa and during his service learned Korean and was asked by the

?

Default Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?

My late father left this sword to me, he said it was "Shin Gunto " NCO officers sword. My father was aboard the USS Iowa and during his service learned Korean and was asked by the navy to translate. He was given this sword by the captain of the USS Iowa for translating captured prisoners brought aboard. Sorry about the poor pictures i'm just learning how to use power shot camera. I've looked for signature,serial # on all parts. Found 1thing that looks like emblem but didn't want too remove tarnish on the sword blade or anywhere else. The sword is in its orignal condition since I inherited it. The blade I was told was not factory made it has no marking as such, serial # or inspector stamp,nor does it have deep blood goves. it does have the 2 cloth (straps) tassles and a wooden iiner casing that goes inside the saya (it has the emblem on it). Is it real or was my father yanking me when I was little?
    Thank for your time
    Darr57
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?   Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?  

Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?   Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?  

Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?   Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?  

?

Default Re: Can anyone tell me about this Japanese sword ?

Hi Darr , from what i can make out from your photos it looks original , but please send in some clear close ups of the blade , tang and the other parts so that the details can be seen , it`s a pity it`s been pulled apart so much .
    REGARDS AL