Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

IJA Cap

Article about: Thought i'd share this with everyone. It is what i believe to be a warrant officers cap in the Imperial guards. I bought it a few years ago now, as it caught my eye at the time and i fancied

?

Default IJA Cap

Thought i'd share this with everyone.
    It is what i believe to be a warrant officers cap in the Imperial guards.

I bought it a few years ago now, as it caught my eye at the time and i fancied it alot.
    I know very little about hats/caps/helmets in general, but i do enjoy looking at other members posts and pictures when they put them up.

It is a thick green felt with a short peak. Rank insignia are sewn onto the front sides aswell.
    The strap is broken and appears very fragile.
    It looks like it has an inner liner missing, but i'm not too sure as i'm no expert when it comes to caps and such.

This cap displays what i tried to convey in the thread on the generals tassel. That is the star and imperial guards insignia were originally in a gold (or possibly parts in silver) 'bullion' thread embroidery, which has faded with the passing of time. It now appears to the naked eye as a greyish colour.

I know there are some fellow collectors here who know their stuff with these caps and i'd be interested to hear some comments and hopefully learn a bit more about this cap, and how to properly preserve/store/display it maybe.
    Cheers
    Ern
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture IJA Cap   IJA Cap  

IJA Cap   IJA Cap  

IJA Cap   IJA Cap  

IJA Cap   IJA Cap  

IJA Cap   IJA Cap  

IJA Cap   IJA Cap  

IJA Cap  

Never seen one before

?

That is nice Ern and quite a rarity being adorned with an Imperial Guards cap emblem !
    REGARDS AL

We are the Pilgrims , master, we shall go
    Always a little further : it may be
    Beyond that last blue mountain barred with snow
    Across that angry or that glimmering sea...

Rod
    ?