Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Japanese Prayer flag for review, Looks interesting

Article about: Hello everyone.. I thought about buying this flag and wanted some ideas if this is a good one or not. My other one was shot down pretty good considering it "ugly" becuase of the wr

?

I just searched his name and this link came up. I guess they are ship names. I'm sure one of the other guys will be more helpful. I don't know anything about searching US records.

All Members Ship List

Regards

Russ

FNG
    ?

I dont either, maybe they will chine in..thanks so much

MAP
    ?

Interesting. I'm by no means a Naval expert but MV and SS I think are typically used for merchant ships. USS or HMS are for Navy ships. So was he in the merchant marine? No less hazardous
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

?

Does the uniform offer any clues?

Regards

Russ
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Japanese Prayer flag for review, Looks interesting  

MAP
    ?

Quote by RussM View Post
    Does the uniform offer any clues?

Regards

Russ
    Yes. He was in the US Navy but maybe posted to a merchant ship? I really don't know or study this. I know enough to get it all wrong...
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

?

The link I posted is for WW2 US Navy Armed Guard if that helps.

Regards

Russ

.....M/S PENNANT 43/44
    .....S.S.MOBIL OIL 44
    .....S.S.MALINKO 45

MS = Merchant Ship (civil)
    SS = Steamship (civil)

USS = United States Ship