Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Japanese Sword

Article about: Hello all, I bought this sword about a year ago and i am just now getting around to taking some pictures. I have little knowledge in the area and was hoping someone could help me out. The ti

?

Default Re: Japanese Sword

Stu,

I would never let any "Jo Shmo" try to "fix" the sword. I would be way to scared of someone butchering it and really damaging the piece. I paid $450 USD for it. Not sure if I overpaid or not, but I enjoy the piece nonetheless, plus when I bought it I had much less knowledge in the hobby and was just excited to own a Japanese sword. I will try to get into contact with Moses and see if meeting up is a possibility. Now that my finals are over I will have much more free time to dedicate to the hobby.

?

At 450 you did not overpay and can always get your money back out of it so no worries there.

Regards,
    Stu

?

Great! I am not so much concerned with the monetary values but it is always nice to know you did not get taken! lol

Default Re: A Day In **MARCH**, 1943

Quote by dramos View Post
    Thanks for a great start! I have absolutely NO knowledge of translating Kanji so I had no idea where to start. Are those the makers names? Places where the sword was made?
    濃州 北原[*] 博正作
    ===========
    ス. I do not know the relevance of a STAMPED ス which is the syllabary "su". As a stand-alone sound, it makes no sense to me.

濃州. Noshuu. This is a province name, like a state. Today it is called Mino. Again, I have a low confidence level of my reading of 濃 "no" [the first part of Noshu];

北原. Kitahara is a Japanese surname.

[*] possibly 湿 [sh!tsu/moist??]. I cannot make out this kanji -- someone with more knowledge will be able to do so immediately. The character is well-formed and easily readable. I can only assume it is part of the given name. Some given names employ three kanji.

博正. Hiromasa. This is the smith's "art name".