Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Japanese sword help

Article about: by asterperious Nihonto are a realm unto themselves. Without holding it hard to say much about it, I have years of association with them but have yet to own one. This blade looks good, the f

Smile Japanese sword help

Hello guys and girls i am posting this up for information as it is not my line of collecting, and am wondering if you could give me any information about it, i am told it is not military and the blade could be upto 200 years old it dosent have any markings on the tang or the blade, your help would be appreciated,
    cheers Ronnie

- - Updated - -

and some more pic's
    cheers Ronnie
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Japanese sword help   Japanese sword help  

Japanese sword help   Japanese sword help  

?

Default Re: Japanese sword help

i'm no katana expert by any means, but a few things stand out to me on this sword. if it were 200 years old i'd expect to see some hand oil on the wrap, the ray skin looks fake because the bumps are all flat, and should not be (as far as what i have seen ). the tsuba looks like something i would expect on a chinese repro. and the blade from what i can see has a distinct wood grain look, like s simulated demast. also common to the chinese repro's. with out seeing the tang, its hard to tell if its a machine made blade or not. and the saya ( scabbard) looks kind of fresh to me. Bob will be able to tell you for sure. i can only go by what very little i know. i hope i'm wrong.
    Andrew

Cheers Andrew looking at the ray skin in hand it is raised but cant make out any "wood grain" ?? on the blade it may be the pics, i was doubtfull when someone told me the blade could be upto 200 yrs old??? but then again what do i know
    thanks for your reply,
    cheers Ronnie

?