MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Kai Gunto Naval Sword

Article about: Hello All, I am helping a friend research this sword that his Dad brought back from WWII. Unfortunately he has very little information as his Dad would never discuss the sword or the cirumst

Default Kai Gunto Naval Sword

Hello All,

I am helping a friend research this sword that his Dad brought back from WWII.

Unfortunately he has very little information as his Dad would never discuss the sword or the cirumstances under which he obtained it.

From what I have found so far this sword is a Japanese Naval Sword (Kai Gunto) and I dont think it was general issue due to the differences in inscriptions from other similar swords I have seen.

I have managed to take off the handle and get pictures of the inscriptions which I will post on this thread.

I can't take the leather cover off of the scabbard as it is stiff and I dont want to force it as I am not a pro with this stuff.

Apologies for the poor quality of the pictures but my DSLR is currently travelling around Asia with another friend.

I am totally wet behind the ears when it comes to researching swords but will add to this post as I learn more to help people in future and any assistance any of the community can provide will be gratefully received.

Kai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval SwordKai Gunto Naval Sword

Default Re: Kai Gunto Naval Sword