Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

Article about: (Sorry for the Re-post) Hi Guys, this is my first post of what I hope to be many more. I am an English teacher in Korea and I since living abroad I've become very interested in all things WW

Jan
    ?

Default Re: Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

What an astonishing piece of history...

Rgds Jan

That's very cool to know. I didnt get the feeling that my grandfather wanted me to take the handle apart but i think one of these days i will and I will find out exactly where it was made and whatnot but the sword is beautiful and its wonderful to know more about it

?

The sword is a Naval model. You can tell that by the 2 hangers on the scabbard with heart designs in them. It also has dark rayskin under the silk handle wrap. Army blades only have one hanger. The Tsuba ( hand guard ) is the naval style. Usually naval swords have black scabbards. Yours is brown which leads me to believe that it is a Naval landing force ( marine ) officers sword. That makes it more rare and more valuable. Even with the name damage on the blade it would still have a nice value.
    It would be nice to see the tang ( the part of the blade under the handle ). You can remove the handle by tapping out the bamboo pin in the handle that holds it on. use only enough force to get it out. Once you have done this you can tap the top and bottom of the hand guard back and forth and it will loosen and come off. If you can remember try to keep the seppa ( copper shims in order ) it will be much easier to reassemble. The tang might be signed and the presence of black rust rather than red may give an indication of greater age.
    Your grandpa did very well when he got this sword.
    Steve