MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

Article about: (Sorry for the Re-post) Hi Guys, this is my first post of what I hope to be many more. I am an English teacher in Korea and I since living abroad I've become very interested in all things WW

Default Re: Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

darn. That's disappointing. I assume then that it was made during the war and not as highly valued as a traditional one. My grandfather has recently told me he wants me to have it, and selling it would be like selling him, but it would have been nice to have known it wasn't mass produced. Also, if it was machine made, then it was probably for a non-commissioned officer, correct?

Quote by SeoulTeacher View Post
    darn. That's disappointing. I assume then that it was made during the war and not as highly valued as a traditional one. My grandfather has recently told me he wants me to have it, and selling it would be like selling him, but it would have been nice to have known it wasn't mass produced. Also, if it was machine made, then it was probably for a non-commissioned officer, correct?
    The sword is a typical example of the sword issued to a junior officer in the Imperial Japanese Navy. For additional money, an officer could purchase a traditional hand forged contemporary blade. In some cases, officers purchased older blades and had them mounted in the typical naval mounts. This is commonly found with officers of the pre-war navy as many came from old samurai families and had family blades they carried.
    BOB

LIFE'S LOSERS NEVER LEARN FROM THE ERROR OF THEIR WAYS.

What a beautiful peice, nice koshirae, pattina and even the blade which to me apears to be hand forged, shame about the carving and scraches though. Any chance you can take some pics of the Nakago (Tang) and the kissaki (tip of the sword)
    Cheers-

D.L

Quote by Darren Lillington View Post