Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

Article about: (Sorry for the Re-post) Hi Guys, this is my first post of what I hope to be many more. I am an English teacher in Korea and I since living abroad I've become very interested in all things WW

?

Default Re: Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

Further to my last, and just for comparison, the attached image is one of a high end traditionally made blade in Kai-gunto mounts. As Bob Coleman mentioned earlier in this thread if the purchaser was prepared to accept the additional cost they could buy a fully traditionally made blade contemporary to the period, as this one is, having been made in 1940. Note the structure of the blade.

Regards,
    Stu
    Photo Credit: Moses Becerra of Nihonto Antiques.
    Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

?

[It was mentioned along the way that the single hanger denotes a Kai-gunto as opposed to a Shin-gunto. First run Type 94 Shin-gunto (Army Officer swords) also had double hangers. The later Type 98 had a single hanger. Regardless that's just for clarification and doesn't impact upon your sword]
    Regards Stu

Another interesting and unusual point regarding the double hanger on the type 94 shin gunto is that the second hanger fitting on the scabbard was removable and was only used when the wearer was in full Dress Uniform . As mentioned , this practice ceased with the type 98 . Again , this is not relevent to the identification of your sword , but worth a mention.
    REGARDS AL

We are the Pilgrims , master, we shall go
    Always a little further : it may be
    Beyond that last blue mountain barred with snow
    Across that angry or that glimmering sea...

Quote by Stu W View Post
    Hello SeoulTeacher,

Thank you for your comments on the other thread and for bringing this one back up for discussion.