Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6

Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

Article about: (Sorry for the Re-post) Hi Guys, this is my first post of what I hope to be many more. I am an English teacher in Korea and I since living abroad I've become very interested in all things WW

Default Re: Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

Quote by BOB COLEMAN View Post
    The anchor stamp is a naval acceptance stamp found on stainless steel blades. It is possible it may have initially failed acceptance for some flaw and was later issued due to war time shortages. That is just a guess on my part.

Interesting. From many of the examples that I have seen, my sword has held up rather well compared to others. Hmmmm

?

Andrew, it may have failed, if that's even the reason for lack of anchor stamp, for any number of reasons. Not all of which would reflect negatively on the quality. It may have ended up outside the contract parameters so put aside till such time as the standards were relaxed. It may have been a bit over or under weight. Shorter or longer than planned. Maybe one of the plant workers was sent off to be a Naval officer and was given the sword on the way out the door. Maybe it was made on a Monday. It's really all just guesswork so don't take it badly.

Regards,
    Stu

Default Re: IJA Type 95 NCO Sword Info

I can't help with determining its value, but:

The tag reads:

牧内大佐

Makiuchi [alternately: Maki-no-Uchi] Taisa
    Colonel Makinouchi

I was bothered with the last kanji because it is not exactly 佐 [sa/counter for field grade officer] ... the last three strokes should be but are represented (I think) as the two-stroke
    [Does that make sense to you?]

--Guy

?

Thanks Stu For this thread . excellent info! Also a thanks to ghp95134 for bring it to the top to read!!!
    Semper Fi
    Phil

Quote by ghp95134 View Post
    I can't help with determining its value, but:

The tag reads:

牧内大佐