Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

WOII Katana. Help discovering if Authentic and what type

Article about: Hi all, Ok, here's the deal. I have been an avid fan of katana's for a long time and own some proper katana's myself. I think I can spot a fake one but I have had no real experience with Wor

Quote by BOB COLEMAN View Post
    ... Japanese officer swords were never marked with arsenal stamps....
    This stamp is . If it was meant to be an abbreviation for Meiji , it is incorredt. The appropriate abbreviation for Meiji would be .

As far as I know (which is not very far!), no arsenal used as its stamp.

--Guy

?

Welcome Gnork,
    Also thanks for taking the effort to sign up and re-visit this thread, it is becoming more interesting!
    This new sword of your friends, only confirms my feelings back in post #13.
    It is in my opinion definitely NOT a modern or recent reproduction.
    The guard (tsuba) on both swords appears to be a WW2 civilian issue. The only notable difference between the blades is the length of the fuller (bo hi) or groove in the blade. This second one has it longer and closer to the collar (habiki).
    If you are able to provide pictures as mentioned, perhaps a better judgement could be made.

Stamps on blades in the same region as these, are not unheard of, although this stamp looks familiar, it isn't the Nagoya stamp i believe. I will check my Fuller & Gregory's to see what i can find.

My leaning so far, is towards a possible ''colonial' made sword under Japanese occupation.
    Ern

Quote by stegel View Post

Stamps on blades in the same region as these, are not unheard of, although this stamp looks familiar, it isn't the Nagoya stamp i believe. I will check my Fuller & Gregory's to see what i can find.