Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

WWII Japanese Army Katana Please Help Identify

Article about: Hello, I'm new to the forum and am thankful there is one like this. I am currently in the US Navy as a Seniorchief and have been for 22 years. I followed my father as he was in both the Army

Default WWII Japanese Army Katana Please Help Identify

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and am thankful there is one like this. I am currently in the US Navy as a Seniorchief and have been for 22 years. I followed my father as he was in both the Army & the Navy. He has since passed away and the only item of his I could pull out of his second wifes clutched hands was a Samurai sword that he had. I have never had it appraised and probably should for insurance purposes. I'm a novice on collecting these types of items and was curious on the authenticity and maybe value of this sword. Thank you in advance for the help.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture WWII Japanese Army Katana Please Help Identify   WWII Japanese Army Katana Please Help Identify  

WWII Japanese Army Katana Please Help Identify   WWII Japanese Army Katana Please Help Identify  

Default Re: WWII Japanese Army Katana Please Help Identify

I've done a little research and found out that there are numbers on all the parts. They are all matching and are #16. The inside of the handles on the wood is also sided in a stamp or pen, not sure which. I've tried to keep it clean, but have not restored it yet as I'm not sure if it will hurt the value or not.

Bob is the guy on these but it looks like a good Japanese Army Officer's Shin-Gunto Sword to me with possible early blade but I could be wrong.

Eric
    [h=3]e plu·ri·bus u·num[/h]