Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

M42 Sauerland Helmet

Article about: During the month of July 2015 I helped my wife's family clean out a house, preparatory to sale, which had belonged to my wife's uncle and aunt, both now deceased. Uncle Jack had served in Eu

Default M42 Sauerland Helmet

During the month of July 2015 I helped my wife's family clean out a house, preparatory to sale,
    which had belonged to my wife's uncle and aunt, both now deceased.

Uncle Jack had served in Europe in the U.S. Army in WW2. In a box of his old things, long stored
    in the house's garage, I found a German WW2 steel helmet. I am not a militaria expert, but I do
    have a strong interest in WW2 military history, and the helmet seemed quite unusual to me, due
    to the decal on its left side.

I asked my wife's cousins, uncle Jack's children, if they knew the story of the helmet. They
    said that uncle Jack brought the helmet home from Europe as a souvenir, that he told them he
    took it from a captured German soldier.

We also found a small pocket diary, in uncle Jack's handwriting, which he kept during his time
    in the service. It's a French diary, and the entry for "Avril 17, 1945" reads in part: "Slept
    in a Gestapo Hdq in Hagen & moved to the outskirts to set up the mortar by a farm house.
    Dug in & spent the night in the house. Slept in a single bed with Roselli. Pulled guard from
    1-3. Three bus' of Germans surrendered today."

I told the family that I thought the helmet might be a rare item, and they asked me to do some
    research. A quick search around the web told me that the helmet appears to be an M42 Sauerland
    helmet, which I now understand to be quite rare. The family is interested in finding the value
    of the helmet, and may be interested in selling it.

As for the diary entry, I discovered on the web that the last German troops fighting in the