Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Orginal paint/liner ?

Article about: Hi, I've had this helmet for a while...and only now decided to unbox it It's a Q66 lot 261 So my main question is... Has it been repainted or a period field repaint ( the corrosion concerns

Default Orginal paint/liner ?

Hi, I've had this helmet for a while...and only now decided to unbox it
    It's a Q66 lot 261 So my main question is... Has it been repainted or a period field repaint ( the corrosion concerns me) ....as for the SS decal....I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure it's not real...because I don't think I would have gotten a real SS helmet for the price I paid. Moreover are the liner & chinstrap original? I know the 1943 B&C Litzmannstadt are the most reproduced...but the wear & age look legit. I took the liberty of taking the liner out of the helmet (only to break 2 of the 3 splitt pins) that's how corroded the liner is... I feel like an idiot by the way!
    Thx in advance!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Orginal paint/liner ?   Orginal paint/liner ?  

Orginal paint/liner ?   Orginal paint/liner ?  

Orginal paint/liner ?  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Orginal paint/liner ?
    P
    Many

IMO the whole thing is bad. Looks like a repainted relic

MAP
    ?

New paint job and thus a fake decal IMO. Outside looks heavily pitted, might even have been a relic with a liner put in.

Not commenting directly on the decal as this is a weak area for me, but I would assume it to be bad given it was put over the new paint.

Michael
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

a refinished relic by its looks.