Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

q L64?

Article about: Hello All. I’m new to the forum and finding it very interesting and helpful. I’ve recently decided that I would like an example of the 3 types of German helmet. As I’m only a newbie with a v

?

Default q L64?

Hello All.
    I’m new to the forum and finding it very interesting and helpful.
    I’ve recently decided that I would like an example of the 3 types of German helmet.
    As I’m only a newbie with a very limited budget I’ve decided on buying ex Norwegian stock and replacing liners etc.
    I’m ‘restoring’ to a ‘factory new’ appearance.
    The M42 that has turned up has a stamp that I cannot find info on. q L64 lot number 5672
    The helmet is in great condition and looks to be very late war as it has loads of ripples and a bulge
    I’ve managed to trace the Lot Numbers for my 35 (Heer) and my M40s was originallya single decal luftwaffe.

Any help would be welcome

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement q L64?
    P
    Many

What you have is a very late War manufactured M42 from an "unknown" manufacturer. Helmets from this factory have maker/size stamps with the letter prefixes of "qvl", "bvl" and "vl" (probably the result of too light a strike for the "q" or the "b"). These helmets are strikingly similar to ET/ckl marked shells, and some think that the factories were related. Here are a few examples. The last few shots are a comparison of a "vL' marked shell and a "ckl" marked shell. Hope this helps. Jim G.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture q L64?   q L64?  

q L64?   q L64?  

q L64?   q L64?  

q L64?   q L64?  

q L64?   q L64?  

q L64?   q L64?  

?

Thank you for your help!
    I love it because it’s just so badly made compared to the m35, which I think adds character.

Quote by Bendy View Post
    Thank you for your help!
    I love it because it’s just so badly made compared to the m35, which I think adds character.