Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here

Cleaning rust and information on this buckle.

Article about: I have bought my first Luftwaffe buckle not in the best condition but from a reputable seller to get an idea and feel of an original. Has anyone got a good way to clean up the rust mainly ar

Default Cleaning rust and information on this buckle.

I have bought my first Luftwaffe buckle not in the best condition but from a reputable seller to get an idea and feel of an original. Has anyone got a good way to clean up the rust mainly around the Swastika and how to prevent the metal degrading any further? Also is there any way to distinguish the maker? I cannot see any visible mark on the rear. Any other information on the buckle would be appreciated as I am very new to the hobby. I am aware it is enlisted mans buckle.

Sorry if these questions are rather basic.

Many Thanks

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Cleaning rust and information on this buckle.
    P
    Many

Maker is JC Maedicke, in ref to the rust I always use very fine wire wool to take off the rust being very careful then clean and wipe off the excess oil. Once dry try and keep in a dry display area and monitor your display on a regular basis.
    Ben

I would not use anything abrasive on the rust around the swastika, this rust appears to be there because the buckle has been in contact with another item of steel and the damp conditions have caused the steel item to rust, what I see looks very superficial and if you soak it in WD40, light oil and rub off with a soft cloth it should go. Steel wire will scratch the surface of the buckle might ruin the original surface.

Quote by BlackCat1982 View Post