Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5

NVA and Border Guards caps: Please give opinions.

Article about: Hello comrades, I would like views on the listed caps, told me that two of them are fake, the border and the infantry, is that correct? Thank you so much

Hi Astrath,

I have been collecting these visor caps for a few years now and I can tell you without a doubt that every cap which you have posted is unequivocally real. The important thing to remember is that later issue DDR officer, NCO and soldier caps (excluding general, admiral and early era caps from the 1950s and 1960s which had a variet of production differences and are more sought after) are far to common to fake WELL. That is not to say that they are not being faked, but the fakes are very bad quality. Here is an example:

NVA and Border Guards caps: Please give opinions.NVA and Border Guards caps: Please give opinions.NVA and Border Guards caps: Please give opinions.NVA and Border Guards caps: Please give opinions.NVA and Border Guards caps: Please give opinions.

This is a fake Grenztruppen officer cap that was for sale on ebay a couple of months ago and is also sold at places like Checkpoint Charlie (the primary market for these things). If you compare it to a real cap, you will notice a myriad of differences which makes for a very poor fake. The material is wrong and highly synthetic, there is a grommet at the peak of the cap, the leather sweatband is the wrong colour and the interior of the hat is the wrong colour, the sweat diamond has no size, 4 digit factory code (e.g. the most common '1856' for Berlin) or date code (from 1968 onwards a single letter, for example 'L')

No fake has ever encompassed any of these factors well, because the cost and knowledge involved is prohibitive for fakers. In the DDR field, what you should be more wary of is wrong combinations and put together hats, which are made of real pieces but never existed at the time.

Cheers,