MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Old Family Photo - Hungary 1940s Military - any information please?

Article about: Can anyone throw any light on the two photos below - The individual (far right) who appears in both images is my late father-in-law, who left Hungary in December 1956 - I believe these photo

?

Default Re: Old Family Photo - Hungary 1940s Military - any information please?

Hi Nick,
    I wish I could give you lots of tips - I'm still fairly new to this collecting craze - only in the last year and a half...
    I don't really know other collectors here in Hungary, and I'm only on this forum. I buy most of the items on "Vatera" (kind of like the Hungarian e-bay) and some of it from ebay.de.
    But probably look into going to some flea markets one of these days...

If you mean seeing Budapest - I would suggest this for sure:
    Sziklakórház - F

and this bunker under the "Gellért Hill" in Buda: where the Germans and Hungarian forces were took their last stand during the seige of Budapest - the bunker was saved in original condition:

Gellérthegyiek a neten: Bunker a hegy alatt (videó)

Cheers,
    Fabe

Quote by NickW View Post
    Interesting items Fabe - we looked on a couple of markets in Hungary and I did get a nice WWII Trench Art shell case decorated with the "Kossuth" Coat of Arms but the only uniform bits we saw were all Russian or Russian derived - Hoping to go again this summer - Budapest and Pecs - any tips on places to look / visit?

?

Unfortunatelly, this is not my set, but I thought I'd post it, for they are really nice photos of the original (M49?) Hungarian sergeant-major / warrant officer (tiszthelyettes) uniform. I think it was sold for around 225 USD for the whole set!

Cheers,
    Fabe