Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Nahkampfspange from "Fredrick Linden Ludenschide"

Article about: Hello everyone, I'm new here and I'm already impressed by the number of members here. It looks like the militaria bible here ! My name is Robert and I'm from southern France. For my first po

Default Nahkampfspange from "Fredrick Linden Ludenschide"

Hello everyone,

I'm new here and I'm already impressed by the number of members here. It looks like the militaria bible here ! My name is Robert and I'm from southern France.

For my first post, I would like to show you my lastest aquisition. According to the seller, It was a dug find. A Nahkampfspange from "Fredrick Linden Ludenschide".
    I'm not an expert on this type of clasp and I would like to know how I can see if it's the bronze or the silver version (Gold ? Ok, I'm a dreamer).

Thanks !

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Nahkampfspange from "Fredrick Linden Ludenschide"
    P
    Many

From the faint traces around the hinge and the catch on the reverse side, I'd tend towards thinking it's a Silver version. The pin itself looks to show silver traces also. Nice find! And Welcome to the Forum, by the way!
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

Thanks Wagriff.
    Hmm, I don't know how to make the difference. Silver ? Bronze ? That is the question. I see also some brown/yellow taint...
    Other question, why the backplate is not black like in most of the other clasps ?

Not all of the backplates you come across were black. Some were blued, some were just base metal, etc. And, keep in mind that being buried for years could well have faded whatever coloration there may have been on the plate in any case. But, as I said before, I'm looking at, for example, the area immediately around the base of the catch. It looks, to my eyes at least, to be distinctly silver in tone.
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."