Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Cleaning a HJ Knife - some help please?

Article about: Hi Guys, Wandering around the local market this morning I managed to pick up a Hitler Youth knife. The guy sold it to me for £50 (GBP) as it's in a bit of a shabby condition with broken tip

Default Cleaning a HJ Knife - some help please?

Hi Guys,

Wandering around the local market this morning I managed to pick up a Hitler Youth knife. The guy sold it to me for £50 (GBP) as it's in a bit of a shabby condition with broken tip etc. Anyway, I'm pretty convinced it's an original at least and worth the small asking price.

I've browsed some of the other threads here regarding restoration etc, and I'm only looking to protect it from any further degrading rather than do an overhaul and hence lose its authentic look.

So on that point is there anything I can do to stop rusting or corrosion?

Please be aware that I'm a UK resident so many of the metal cleaning products or such like available in the US or elsewhere may not be available to me!

Thanks in advance.

Cleaning a HJ Knife - some help please?Cleaning a HJ Knife - some help please?Cleaning a HJ Knife - some help please?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Cleaning a HJ Knife - some help please?
    P
    Many

I've never used anything on my blades...just keep it stored in a dry place and wipe it down every now and then...
    cheers, Glenn

Quote by bigmacglenn1966 View Post
    I've never used anything on my blades...just keep it stored in a dry place and wipe it down every now and then...
    cheers, Glenn
    Cheers Glenn. Yes, I've got everything stored in my back room on shelves or in cabinets so no problems there. I just remember my Dad used to wipe down the blades on his bayonets with Vaseline. Not really sure if that's a good way of protecting them or not?

?

I think if it were mine I wouldnt do any thing to it.Looks good to Me.Looks like it has a story to tell.