Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Early Voos HJ Knife

Article about: A buddy of mine that knows I've been looking for an early HJ knife with legible motto surprised me today with this one just now for \\$325. I'm torn on the missing buffer leather though. As fo

Default Early Voos HJ Knife

A buddy of mine that knows I've been looking for an early HJ knife with legible motto surprised me today with this one just now for $325. I'm torn on the missing buffer leather though. As for collector value, how big of an issue is a missing buffer, and can period replacements be found and slid down over the blade without destroying the buffer? I'm kind of torn on if this is "the one" to get, or if I should keep looking. I'd be all over it if it had the buffer, but I'm still learning how to properly value these things.

Thanks for the help!

Scott

Early Voos HJ Knife
    Early Voos HJ Knife
    Early Voos HJ Knife
    Early Voos HJ Knife
    Early Voos HJ Knife
    Early Voos HJ Knife
    Early Voos HJ Knife

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Early Voos HJ Knife
    P
    Many

An early Emil Voos HJ knife. It has seen better days, of course, and I am not too enamored by the very faded motto, but it is what it is and is definitely a knife that has Been there. Personally, I would not be too hesitant about the missing leather buffer. Many of these are found like this. If it were mine, I would simply cut out a disk of leather and replace it after aging it down abit. They are, after all, simply plain leather ovals and quite often fell apart or rotted off over time. $325 is about the top value of a Voos in this condition, in my opinion. You could do worse.
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

William! It's good hear from you. I hope you're doing well these days.