Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Picked this HJ knife up today, what can you tell me about it?

Article about: I'm very new to collecting militaria, though I've done a bit of research on HJ knives, I'm no expert. I was hoping you all could authenticate and tell me more about this knife? The condition

Default Picked this HJ knife up today, what can you tell me about it?

I'm very new to collecting militaria, though I've done a bit of research on HJ knives, I'm no expert. I was hoping you all could authenticate and tell me more about this knife? The condition is a bit rough, but that doesn't bother me too much. I got it for what I consider to be a decent price and had somebody I trust to authenticate it, but I also trust the opinion of this forum and was hoping to see what you all think. Cheers!

Unfortunately the scabbard's button is missing.

Maker is H&F Lauterjung

As you can see the "Blood and Honor!" is very faint, but still visible.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Picked this HJ knife up today, what can you tell me about it?
    P
    Many

It is original but over sharpened to make it look an odd shape.

I had a feeling it had been re sharpened, the shape and feel of the blade is awkward.

Not really that much to tell about it. It was made by H. & F. Lauterjung in Solingen, of course, and is a fairly early Transitional piece from the 1936-38 era or so, as shown by the RZM stamp and the makers mark both being present. It's been through the wringer more than a few times-as the condition shows. A shame, as it would have been worth decent money, as collectors like the early ones with the motto on the blade.
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

?