Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here

Help Please-German Bayonet?

Article about: Hi everyone, a couple of weeks ago a friend of mine visited a Homestead Florida antique shop. He remembered I have a couple of WWII medals so he tought it would be a nice gesture to bring me

Default Help Please-German Bayonet?

Hi everyone, a couple of weeks ago a friend of mine visited a Homestead Florida antique shop. He remembered I have a couple of WWII medals so he tought it would be a nice gesture to bring me something (indeed it was). This is what he brought me, the owner of the store told him it was a german bayonet. Since I am no expert and someone once told me to never take for granted the aunthenticity of an "antique" or any sort of militaria I wanted your expert opinion guys. I thank you all in advance

Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?Help Please-German Bayonet?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Help Please-German Bayonet?
    P
    Many

Greetings Johnson,

What you have posted is known as a German 98/05 "Butcher Blade" Bayonet. Your example has replaced (read: not original) handles and is dated 1918 by the "18" on the spine. You can go here and see similar examples GERMAN 98/05 VARIATIONS

Regards,

Lance

SRB
    ?

ww1 grman

Thanks for the info guys, I appreciate it. I suspected what you said about the handles Lance, they are odd looking. How about the rest of the bayonet? does it look legit? Also do you happen to know the type of rifle this bayonet was attachable?

Greetings again,