Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

For review: SS Honor Ring - Dated 30/08/40

Article about: OK gents. Helping out a friend here. Not my area but spent some time this morning combing through some threads. We have asked for better photos but for the moment, these are all we have. I a

MAP
    ?

Default For review: SS Honor Ring - Dated 30/08/40

OK gents. Helping out a friend here. Not my area but spent some time this morning combing through some threads.

We have asked for better photos but for the moment, these are all we have.

I am not keen on this ring for a number of reasons. But not being an expert, I want to hear from those you have more hands on experience. I don't want to "kill" it and turn out to be wrong.

From what I can see..., the big red flag is the date. It is not one of the accepted known dates. Also the month has a "0" which I have also read is a no no.

Also, can't tell much from the photos, but not sure if the skull is a separate piece and am also not sure if the writing is engraved, stamped/Cast.

These are the dates that I have read are acceptable. Not sure if this is correct

1933-1935
    24.XII.33

1936-1944

"Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement For review: SS Honor Ring - Dated 30/08/40
    P
    Many

Not a chance. The date alone kills it, and so does the abbreviated first name of the recipient.

Say, is that the same ring...:

SS Honor Ring, worth a look?

...or just one off the same assembly line?

MAP
    ?

Thanks Andreas. My thoughts confirmed. But also good to hear about the abbreviated name. That one I didn't know.

As far as being the same. I doubt it but I would agree that it's from the same assembly line somewhere in eastern Europe