MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

SS Ring What do you think?

Article about: Here's one I got a shot at Best I can do with the photos Always appreciate your opinions guys!!!

Hi William, I am no expert on this ring area, but have been following with interest this thread. Your point is very interesting indeed, but just wandering, since it s no surprise that this ring has had no easy life and therefore is not in good condition, could it be that maybe the runes have been also damaged, hit and that is the reason for them to be different?, just wandering
    Quote by Wagriff View Post
    Yes, it certainly has condition issues-at first glance, I had wondered if it had, perhaps, been in a fire and damaged the blacking....but when looking at the 1st photo in post #9, it is hard to understand how the left hand rune could be shaped as it is. It is far from matching the right hand rune. The top of it is curved and the bottom has a flared bottom and overall is much thicker than the other one. If it is an early authentic ring, it shows some extremely sloppy workmanship. Sorry, but it's definitely not one that I would have in my collection.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS Ring What do you think?
    P
    Many

There are plenty of known period rings which each rune is not symmetrical to the other. Those will be seen in the publishing of that ring book. In the beginning , I thought the same while looking at rune rings. But then I was educating by some good guys. Now about every rune ring I see, the runes don't match 100%. But that's what keeps us all learning here. Thank you for your input my friend.

You really do not want to see things perfectly neat, clean, and linear here and not what you see on early pieces like this. To each his own in that regard but it's consistent with what you should see.