Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ?

Article about: by Erich S Again, I have no problem with it. There are few things you look for on these and everything looks right to me. JMO! What things exactly. I, and others here one would assume, would

Default SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ?

Hi,

I purchase this "Yulleuchter" this morning at a flee market for a little price, what is your opinion please.
    I have no experience in porcelan items. What is exactly a "Yulleuchter"
    Thank you very much for help.

Best regards from Alsace , France.
    Carfin.

SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ?SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ?
    SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ?
    P
    Many

Default Re: SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ?

Hi Carfin,

The SS runes appear to be hand inscribed with a potters stylus when in fact they should be stamped like these. Hope that someone else can offer more info on this item as they are heavily faked.

Regards, Ned.
    Attached Images Attached Images SS Yule Lighter, good or fake ? 
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'

In memory of Capt. Robert Falcon Scott, Edward Wilson, Henry Bowers, Lawrence Oates and Edgar Evans. South Pole Expedition, 30th March 1912.

I cannot really comment on your item itself, but about your question as to what exactly a Julleuchter is, you may find more here...:

Julleuchter - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

...and here, including period images showing its manufacturing process:

SS Porzellan Allach Julleuchter