Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 15 ... LastLast

Black SS uniform in wear, 1943

Article about: Dear Colleague, in contrast, here is an Austrian Allgemeine SS man, but I think of a higher echelon of command. I think colleague d'alquen originally furnished us this image. My wild guess i

Default Re: Black SS uniform in wear, 1943

Quote by stonemint View Post
    This is off the WAF, and the poster has his Kripo disc and ID card.
    Pic is dated 1942--note the EK ribbon. Note the wear of the M-36 Dagger, and the piped SD Raute:
    Stonemint

The guy in your picture looks like Anton Diffring from the classic films Where Eagles Dare, Heroes of Telemark and Operation daybreak

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Black SS uniform in wear, 1943
    P
    Many

Probably the closest there is to an A-SS uniform worn by an RKT--
    Max Wuensche wearing one of his pre-war cut tunics after being awarded the RK in '43:
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Black SS uniform in wear, 1943  
    “Show me the regulation, and I’ll show you the exception.”

KvK winnter Ernst Ritter wearing his black uniform in 1942:
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Black SS uniform in wear, 1943  

KvK winner Albrecht Brummenbaum wearing his black uniform on the day of his award, October 1, 1944:

Thanks for additional data. I have seen images of the black uniform in wear later in the fall of 1944, in fact.

So much for the assertion that the black uniform vanished with the start of the war.

The officer corps of the SS consisted of a large cohort of personages in civil society in positions of leadership in party and state with SS leaders' rank.