Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Black SS Uniforms - A better understanding.

Article about: Our readers will note that none of the other sites offer the responsive editorial role complete with fine illustrations as to be found here......

Spindler
    ?

Default Black SS Uniforms - A better understanding.

Just wondering if any one could help me get a better understanding on the topic of SS Uniforms, preferably the black ones. I have listed below some areas that hold particular fascination and i would appreciate any help, no matter how small, as i am new to this subject. Thanks.

1. SS-Leibstandarte 1933-39, did they wear a black dress uniform when not on formal guard / parade duty? If yes, did this continue through the war years or did they revert to Field Grey as per regular units;

2. SS-Leibstandarte 1939-45, guard / parade uniforms. Are there any detailed photos or good reference books showing this uniform?

3. SS-Leibstandarte in general - black uniforms with black belts, cross-belts etc?

2. # ADS

Default Re: Black SS Uniforms - A better understanding.

Quote by Spindler View Post
    1. SS-Leibstandarte 1933-39, did they wear a black dress uniform when not on formal guard / parade duty? If yes, did this continue through the war years or did they revert to Field Grey as per regular units;?
    Slightly simplified (!), it breaks down like this:

In the pre-war years, the black uniform was the only permitted parade-, dress- and walking out uniform for the entire SS including the LSSAH.

However, the full-time, barracked and armed formations (LSSAH & SSVT, SSTV) already used other uniform colors for everyday work-/field-/barracks- etc. duty: earth grey (SSVT), earth brown (SSTV) and field grey (initially only the LSSAH but soon all of the aforementioned). Various drill and sports uniforms were used as well.