MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Grey SS peaked caps.

Article about: A variety of caps from the collection of K Finhead, a colleague of mine.

Quote by MM1985 View Post
    Dear Mr. Berthold.
    Thank you for your help to identify the place of the Picture and for the translation - I'm not that good with reading the old german Hand writing - now i can read (hope that's right):

"Zur Erinnerung an den Truppenübungsplatz Döberitz. (August 1938) Podsdam Schloss Sansouci - Harry" - Harry was the former owner of this Picture. He served later in the Division Wiking Aufklärungsabteilung 5. I have several Pictures from him showing battles in France, Poland and later Russia, his SS Führerschein, several other papers a and a copy of his Soldbuch. He survived the war.

Well done. I read Suetterlin. A bad habit of mine.

Thanks for the additional detail.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Grey SS peaked caps.
    P
    Many

Grey SS peaked caps.Grey SS peaked caps.Grey SS peaked caps.This cap was mine. It is for sale with Shea.

?

excellent and crisp imagery - now, can those really be cloth-covered visors worn by some of these people? with wire stiffeners?! I thought all the soft caps with cloth bills were made specifically formless to stuff into pockets.

also nice to see the 'then-n-now' aspect of the portrait locale. thanks a lot for this colloquy.

Quote by Friedrich-Berthold View Post
    Grey SS peaked caps.Grey SS peaked caps.Grey SS peaked caps.This cap was mine. It is for sale with Shea.

The imagery is Shea's of a cap that was formerly mine. Brian Maederer found it and sold it to Bruce Burnham, who then sold it to me, and I to Shea...

It was or was not found by a "picker," whatever that means.

Quote by vady View Post