Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

oxidation of bullion on collar tabs

Article about: Greetings. I often see SS collar tabs with both runes and standarte numbers with some degree of oxidation. I usually purchase such items in as good as possible condition but this one has cau

?

Thanks colleague. I am certain Walt Disney has his imagineers working on this very problem.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement oxidation of bullion on collar tabs
    P
    Many

DrCMH upholds the fine standards of our site.

The transient nature of things forms the basis for reflection and thought, as we find here.

Collectors do huge damage to regalia, in fact. Caps are especially vulnerable to being pulled apart.

Thanks CMH for the great detail of Al oxidation processes. I studied materials science (and corrosion technology ) but is now ancient history to me. I also recall that some Aluminium alloys are prone to Stress Corrosion Cracking when exposed to aqueous halides. This further adds to the general ethic of keeping sweaty fingers away from such items.
    A piece of ww2 trivia off the point. A massive Krupp hydraulic press was "given" to Australia as reparations. Apparently still the biggest in the southern hemisphere, it sits unused for the last 68 years in a materials fabrication laboratory at ANSTO (my old employer) in Sydney. Occasionally, it is used to straighten warped barbeque plates. How Australian is that?

?

Quote by backtothefront View Post
    Thanks CMH for the great detail of Al oxidation processes. I studied materials science (and corrosion technology ) but is now ancient history to me. I also recall that some Aluminium alloys are prone to Stress Corrosion Cracking when exposed to aqueous halides. This further adds to the general ethic of keeping sweaty fingers away from such items.